Frequently Asked Questions
How Do I Get a Maryland Medical Marijuana Card?
- Register with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) > Click Here
- See a doctor with My420Dr. Provide your name, DOB, and patient number. Get approved and receive a certification. Certification is submitted directly by the doctor on the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission website.
- If all documents are submitted correctly, the application takes roughly 3 weeks to be approved. Once approved you will receive a patient number.
- Log back into your state account and print off your temporary card, which is valid for 90 days and can be used in a dispensary. Your physical copy will be sent to you by mail.
How Much Does a Maryland MMJ Certificate & Card Cost?
It costs $50 to get a Maryland MMJ card, payable to the state. The card is valid for 3 yrs, but you need a new certification from the doctor each year. The cost of the physician’s consultation starts from $99, with prices subject to change. The cost of the physician’s consultation is separate from the application fee.
What Conditions Qualify for a Maryland Doctor’s MMJ Cert?
The following conditions may qualify a patient for a Maryland Doctor’s MMJ Rec:
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that results in a patient being admitted into hospice or receiving palliative care; or
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment of a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that produces:
Severe or Chronic Pain
Seizures or persistent muscle spasms
Patients diagnosed with severe conditions where other more traditional medical treatments have been ineffective
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
How Do I Renew My Maryland Medical Marijuana Card?
- Register online and speak to a Maryland licensed physician.
- Get approved and receive your MMCC Written Certification in minutes.
- Shop at any Maryland licensed dispensary.
Renewal with My420Dr is $99
How Long Does It Take to Get a Maryland Cannabis Card?
What Documents Do I Need for a Maryland Marijuana Rec & Card?
Valid ID. Driver’s licence, passport, military ID or state-/federally-produced United States ID card – patients do not have to be a resident of Maryland, and out-of-state patients may apply. Those under 18 must have a primary caregiver and pediatric sub-specialist.
Proof of address – 2 of the following: bank statement, utility bill, correspondence with a state department issued within the last 90 days; mortgage or rental agreement.
Medical records, progress notes, health summary, list of diagnoses, medication list, or pictures of prescription bottles.
Electronic copy of a passport-style photograph.
Acceptable forms of proof of Maryland address:
Property tax bill
Official documentation from Registrar documenting current enrollment and on-campus living status
Non-Maryland Residents must provide:
Acceptable forms of identification:
Driver’s license or Motor Vehicle Administration identification card (both front and back)
Proof that the patient is in the State to receive medical treatment:
The address and a contact name for the Maryland medical facility where the patient is receiving treatment
If registering a minor patient who does not have a government-issued photo ID, please upload the caregiver’s ID.
A Brief Overview of Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws
2014 – House Bill 881 (HB 881) is approved by Governor Martin O’Malley. This tasked the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission with developing regulations for patients and dispensaries, including licensing, fees and possession limits.
2016 – The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission is allowed to issue the number of dispensary licenses available.
2017 – Doctors and nurses may make a medical marijuana recommendation as long as they are licensed by the Maryland Board of Nursing, Maryland Board of Physicians, the Podiatrist Medical Examiners or the Maryland Board of Dental Examiners. Registry is mandatory for providers in order to start issuing medical marijuana cards.
State-licensed dispensaries are operational.
There is no caregiver program in 2017, although there is one now in 2020.
Home cultivation is prohibited.
Up to a 30-day supply of cannabis can be issued for patients.
There is no reciprocity with other states.
Possession of up to 10 g for personal use is a Civil Offense and can bring a fine of up to $100.
Possession of between 10 g and less than 50 pounds is a misdemeanor, and can bring up to 1 year in prison and/or a $1,000 fine.
Possession of 50 pounds or more is a felony, with a minimum mandatory sentence of 5 years and/or a fine of $100,000. Intending to distribute more than 50 pounds will get you the label of “drug kingpin”, and can mean a mandatory sentence of at least 5 years and, in cases with multiple offenses (e.g. cultivation) may bring the mandatory minimum up to 20 years and/or a $1,000,000 fine.
Penalties for hashish and concentrates are the same as for marijuana.
Possession of paraphernalia is a Civil Offense, and though there is no penalty, paraphernalia may be confiscated and a criminal charge may go on record, especially if it’s a repeat offense. Sale/advertising may bring you a misdemeanor charge and a $500 fine. Subsequent violations could mean up to 2 years in prison and/or a $2,000 fine.
Trafficking more than 45 kg into Maryland can bring up to 25 years in prison and a fine of $50,000. Less than 45 kg and more than 5 kg, and the sentence is 10 years and a $10,000 fine.
Possession of a firearm with cannabis will bring stiffer penalties.
Cultivation is treated as possession. However, cultivation may be seen as a sign as wanting to distribute, so this depends on how many plants a person is growing and how much produce they get.